Message sent from:

Curriculum - Overview


Curriculum (2014) Key Points

  • The main aim is to raise standards
  • It has been designed to produce productive, creative and well educated students. 
  • All maintained schools will have to follow the new curriculum but Academies and Free Schools are exempt
  • The new curriculum is intended to be more challenging
  • The content is slimmer than the current curriculum
  • It focuses on essential core subject knowledge and skills such as essay writing and computer programming

Curriculum (2014) Key Facts

  • Schools are free to choose how they organise their school day, as long as the content of the National Curriculum programmes of study is taught to all pupils.
  • By the end of each key stage, pupils are expected to know, apply and understand the matters, skills and processes specified in the relevant programmes of study.
  • The new National Curriculum identifies what to teach but not how to teach.
  • The new National Curriculum does not have levels of attainment, but expectations at each banding.
  • “Literacy” title has been replaced by ‘English’.
  • ‘ICT’ title is replaced by ‘Computing’
  • No PSHE or RE contained within the Curriculum 2014 (but still to be taught).
  • An Act of Daily Worship is expected in all schools.
  • In Maths there will be a greater emphasis on arithmetic, and the promotion of efficient written methods of long multiplication and division.  There will also be a more demanding content in fractions, decimals and percentages.
  • In Science there is a stronger focus on the importance of scientific knowledge and language and a greater emphasis on the core scientific concepts underpinning pupils’ understanding.  For the first time primary aged children will learn about evolution and inheritance.
  • The English programmes of study will embody higher standards of literacy.  Pupils will be expected to develop a stronger command of the written and spoken word.  Through the teaching of phonics pupils will be helped to read fluently.
  • The study of languages is compulsory in Key Stage 2.
  • The current ICT curriculum is replaced with a new computing curriculum with a much greater emphasis on computational thinking and practical programming skills.
  • It is essential to distinguish between the statutory National Curriculum and the whole school curriculum.  All schools must provide a curriculum that is broadly based, balanced and meets the needs of all pupils.
  • In other subjects and key stages there is a greater amount of time and flexibility for schools and teachers to design their curriculum and lessons by focusing only on the essential knowledge to be taught in each subject.
Hit enter to search